top of page
  • Writer's pictureTamara

Day 27: Rule-Breaker..


I like to think that I’m willing to take some risks but in reality, I am typically a law-abiding citizen. I guess that I am a bit of a goody-two-shoes, too afraid of the consequences that will follow if I get caught, so I pretty much just end up sticking to all of the rules.


But lockdown has brought a little rebel out in me because I mean, what else do you do when you’re stuck inside, separated from your family and your comfort zone (although this is self-inflicted) and you just need some alcohol??


So on Saturday, I spent a good portion of the day driving around trying to buy cigarettes – not for me, but for Dane who has apparently become the avid smoker since living with me… As we made our way around the area driving from dodgy shop to dodgy shop, not only was I super keen to be out of the house on such a beautiful day, but there was something quite exciting about “breaking” the law seeking out prohibited tobacco products. I sat in the car “keeping watch” as Dane made his way into the store hoping that these storekeepers had a sneaky stash – it was thrilling because let’s face it, it doesn’t take much to be entertained these days; but what I realised is that these laws (although there for our protection) are literally pushing people to break the law, to go to these dodgy shops, to pay premium price (of which the government won’t see a cent) and risk their safety even more than if it was just available to us at fucking Checkers. This bad apocalyptic movie which has now become our lives is enough to deal with without feeling like we’re living in the prohibition!

But bringing us back to today and some further law-breaking behaviour, I had an appointment and with that appointment, I received a letter that pretty much granted me freedom of movement – well, perceived freedom of movement. I felt as if I had this magic get-out-of-jail-free card and so I used that to my advantage – I went to visit my mommy and my babies! Man, how I missed all of them! I know that it’s a risk and I understand that it basically defeats the purpose of lockdown, but this lockdown has gone on 1 week longer than what I was prepared for and all I needed was that dog to lick my face and that cat to ignore me, and surprisingly, I just needed to be around my mommy (absence really does make the heart grow fonder). Those couple of hours of being a rule breaker really made my week and not only because I got the feeling of normalcy and comfort back, but because there is nothing like the reminder of what is the most important in life.


With my visit, came one unintended perk – alcohol! I raided the cupboards and the fridges and I found little bits of alcohol and it felt like my entire life was starting to make sense again because Lord knows that I needed a glass of fucking anything at this point! So my mom and I packed the bottles into my car, carefully covering and trying to disguise the items as something less sinister in case I was stopped and searched at a roadblock and off I went. So here I am enjoying a glass of wine while writing this and thinking that sometimes it is perfectly ok to break the rules (whilst being safe considering the current situation).


These 4 weeks have been rough and at this point in time, I think that we all need any tiny bit of hope to hold on to and today was my much-needed hope. So here’s to hopefully just one more week of lockdown which thanks to my outings today, I should have enough alcohol to cover!


Be safe xx

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page