top of page
  • Writer's pictureTamara

Day 18: Easter is for Family..

So I gave day 17 a bit of a skip and that is because every now and then, we all need a break (and it was Easter after all)! But today is a new day and a start of a new week, so I am back at it..

Easter weekend has always been the same for me - it has always been a weekend filled with family gatherings and my granny’s cooking. So going into the Easter weekend being separated from my family and the traditions which have naturally fallen into place over the years, was a bit odd for me to say the least.


I think that as I have gotten older, I have become way more sentimental - I place much more value on family time and all the craziness that comes along with that – the talking over one another, the smell of cigarette smoke and the playful (and sometimes rude) banter that passes back and forth across the table.


I’ve written a post before about all the little things that we take for granted, but what I realised over this Easter weekend is how we take time with family for granted. It seems to be a given because in my mind this is just what we do on Easter; but when you suddenly aren’t doing it and you aren’t spending that time together shouting over one another in order to get a word in, I couldn’t help but think about how precious time with family truly is. When I look back on any big event or holiday, I have plenty of memories with family – these are moments that I overlooked, took as the norm and didn’t truly appreciate just how special it was to have family that gathers together as we do, even as crazy and as loud as those gatherings are.


But thanks to the power of Technology, we all got to gather in our little parts of the world and spend a good hour and a half shouting over each other in order to get a word in – it was as if we were never apart!


They say that you don’t know what you had until it’s gone, and Easter away from my family highlighted to me just how blessed I am to have the family dynamic that I do. We don’t know how much time we all have left on this planet, and the moments shared and the memories created during those times spent together last an entire lifetime.


Be safe xx

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page