top of page
  • Writer's pictureTamara

Day 19: Expectation is the Root of All Heartache..

Honestly some days I really battle with what I can write in these posts. It isn’t as if my days are filled with incredible “Aha” moments, or so bustling with activity that it results in endless inspiration or newfound thought. So sometimes I really struggle to find something to write, some days I publish a post and I think to myself, “Wow that was bad.” But I made a commitment to document this crazy experience and everything that I may or may not learn, and so I push myself to publish the post even if I was digging into the deepest trenches of my mind for anything remotely coherent.


Today is one of those days where I find myself sitting in front of my laptop thinking about what happened today that was great and thought-provoking, and what was the big lesson that I could document here for myself to look back on, and for those few family and friends who actually spend some of their days reading this. Insert cricket sounds here – that was the response as I sent the query out in my mind. Literally nothing but cricket sounds.


The problem is that I am seeking out this massive, amazingly ground-breaking lesson or thought and the pressure is far too much for my human mind. So as the cricket sounds continued as I searched through the archives of my day, I realised that not every day is going to be filled with Earth-shattering and profound learnings, some days are just ordinary; but that doesn’t make them any less special than those days where I did have those massive, amazingly ground-breaking lessons or thoughts.


As William Shakespeare once wrote, “Expectation is the root of all heartache.” The pressure of expectation always results in disappointment. If you aren’t letting yourself down, those closest to you are letting you down but the reality is that things don’t play out as you imagine them to, things play out as they are meant to. So my great lesson for the day is to drop all expectations. Life and all that happens is pretty beautiful, but things go sideways real quick when you paint the experience through the lenses of expectation – nothing ever goes according to the imagination and just because it didn’t work out as you imagined that it would, doesn’t mean that it was less spectacular, lacked meaning or was any less profound.


Fighting against the flow of life only results in more of what you don’t want in terms of chaos, unhappiness and ultimately heartache. When you allow yourself to ease the pressure, release expectations and shift into the natural flow of life, that is when you start to experience life and your journey for what it truly is – a beautiful ride.


So here’s to embracing this journey and experience with zero expectations over the next 16 days left on lockdown – things can only get better from here!


Be safe xx

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page